What I Learned On My Kids’ Field Trip

I learned so much on this field trip.   So much that I decided to make a list, so you could learn too.

1) Check museum hours before planning a field trip.  They may be closed on the day you planned to drive 3 hours to get there.  Have a back up, just in case.

2) If driving 3 hours to get to said destination, feed the children in the car.  Otherwise they will want to eat as soon as you get there, wasting an hour of your visit time.

3) Have migraine medication with you at all times.  (My poor friend got one right before our OmniMax movie… torture…)

4) Check museum hours of back up.  They may close a mere 4 hours after your arrival.  If you spend 1 hour eating lunch, 1 hour watching an OmniMax movie and 20 more minutes eating snack… It doesn’t leave much time for, you know, field tripping.  😉

Ha.  We did learn really cool actual information too.  We learned all about monarch butterflies and their annual 3-generation cycle and migration.  We got to see a real life palentologist working on a real life dinosaur fossil.  He gave Molly a good piece of advice:  get a trust fund.  😉   We learned that they use a solution comparable to super glue mixed with water to stabalize weakened fossils.  They had fun exploring and learning, but I really, really wish we had more time!  I was also bummed that our first choice museum was closed.  I’m hoping that we’ll be able to make the trip again, very soon, so we can see that one, too.

untitled-5170 untitled-5172 untitled-5174 untitled-5175 untitled-5177 untitled-5186 untitled-5190 untitled-5197 untitled-5200 untitled-5202 untitled-5203 untitled-5204 untitled-5207 untitled-5208 untitled-5213 untitled-5218 untitled-5220 untitled-5223 untitled-5229 untitled-5230 untitled-5233

This trip also inspired me to order some new “fun” for our classroom, especially more logic/puzzle based activities for my Lucy girl.  That girl could play Tangrams all day!  I’m also on the look out for Tetrominos.  Its like real-life tetris.  Hit me up if you’ve seen them anywhere… The ones the museum had were little foam magnetic pieces.

All in all a fun day, and lots of lessons learned!

One thought on “What I Learned On My Kids’ Field Trip

Leave a Reply

