Zucchini, Carrot and Cranberry Cupcake Muffins

Mmmmmmm.  Mmmmmmm.   Mmmmmmmm.

These are super.  duper.  super.  yummy.  Pretty much if you do nothing else this week in the kitchen, make these.

I came across this recipe on by beloved, Pinterest, and thought they sounded divine.  Our girls love zucchini bread, so I knew it would be a home run with them.  I couldn’t just leave well enough alone, of course, and had to play with it a little bit.  I did use some raw sugar in these… why?  Because I felt like it.  Because I really wanted these to be shove-them-in-your-mouth-delish, and, well, sometimes I need sugar for that to happen.  So sue me.  The berry muffins from last week, were yummy, but Molly requested some time off from “oatmeal” muffins, despite dutifully eating hers last week.  So, this is what she’s getting and I’m almost giddy for morning because I know these will be a five star breakfast to her.  I don’t think these have enough sugar and fat in them to be truly Cupcake Muffins (like a bakery “muffin” studded with chocolate, loaded with sugar and then glazed), but I am going to let the girls use whipped cream cheese to “frost” them, so they will look like little breakfast cupcakes.  Who can say no to that?!

2 cups white whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup raw or granulated sugar

1/2 cup organic honey

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 eggs

3/4 cup finely grated carrot

3/4 cup finely grated zucchini

2 tsp pure vanilla

handful of Craisins (we used regular, but pomegranate would be good too!)

You know the drill:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a 12-cup muffin tray with paper cups or silicone liners.

In a small bowl mix dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and baking soda.

In a larger bowl, or bowl of electric mixer, mix together sugar, oil, eggs, grated carrot & zucchini, and vanilla.

Fold dry ingredients into wet, and mix gently until flour is absorbed, careful not to over mix.  Then gently fold in the Craisins (don’t overmix).

Use an ice cream scoop to divide the batter into 12 muffin cups. (I got two muffin tops, too!)

Bake for approximately 20-25 minutes – until an inserted cake tester comes out clean.

Cool in the muffin tins on a wire rack.

“Frost” with whipped cream cheese if desired.

Printer friendly:

Zucchini, Carrot and Cranberry Cupcake Muffins

We are off to St. Louis tomorrow morning to visit the Magic House!  Am I the only one suffering greatly from daylight savings?  It has been a constant battle to stay in motion all day!  I need to finish rounding things up so I can get a good night’s sleep for our adventure tomorrow.  Molly has been watching the Louis and Clark episode on Brain Pop Jr. in preperation for her trip.  I’m off to finish my own preperation!  I am really hoping we get around to making a model of the Nile River this week, as well as do some kind of art project (that is yet to be planned).  Ta-tah for now!

Leave a Reply

